Africa Egypt Ethiopia Ghana Kenya Rwanda South Africa Tanzania Tourism Travel Uganda Weekend Zambia

Nine African countries you can now travel to

Africa is that place where your heart’s desires in travel are always fulfilled. It is not a place where tourism disappoints at all; if anything, it lives beyond one’s expectations.

However, the COVID-19 pandemic brought Africa’s tourism sector to an unprecedented halt from March and it is yet to recover.

Respective African government have continued to open up their countries once more as COVID-19 cases reduce but still maintain a set of health and safety guidelines to operate by in the sector.

International flights have resumed in most of the prolific tourism hotspots in Africa but with stringent safety measures.

Here are some of the countries you can visit and the requirements set to be allowed into the country.


From July, Egypt gradually opened its borders and allowed tourism to resume in the seaside establishments.

However, if you plan on travelling to Egypt, make sure you have a valid visa, always wear a face mask at the airport and during the flight, be COVID-19 negative, have health travel insurance and temperature screening at the airport.

Also read: Egypt launches 1st tourist restaurant at Giza pyramids


International flights to Ethiopia have been allowed. However, all in-bound passengers must present PCR-based COVID-19 test results done not more than 120 hours before arrival.


International flights resumed in Ghana resumed on September 1. All arriving passengers are required to present a COVID-19 negative certificate from a test conducted not more than 72 hours before arrival.


Kenya resumed international travel on August 1. All travellers entering the country must present a PCR-based COVID-19 negative test and proof that they are negative. Their body temperature must also not be more than 370.


Tanzania was the first East African country to reopen its borders to international tourists. All arriving passengers must wear face masks and maintain social distance.


Rwanda opened her borders in August. International tourists must present a PCR-based negative test upon arrival at the airport and also take another test. Wearing of masks and social distancing is mandatory.


International travellers are welcome to Uganda but they are required to take a COVID-19 test 72 hours before arrival and show proof of negative coronavirus status.

8.South Africa

Its borders were opened on October 1. All arriving passengers must present the result of a COVID-19 test 72 hours before arrival.

9. Zambia

Tourists must take a COVID-19 test 14 days before arrival.

Source: See Africa Today

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: