Africa Customs Diplomacy Government Immigration Tourism Travel

List of African countries affected by Trump’s latest travel restrictions

Fifteen African countries have been affected by the latest travel restrictions imposed by the outgoing president of the United States of America (USA).

Per the new rule imposed by Donald Trump, citizens of the 15 African countries will post bonds of up to US$15k to be allowed to visit the USA.

The US State Department indicated that the countries targeted for the visa bond rule are those whose nationals had an “overstay rate” of 10% or higher in 2019. Citizens of the countries that have been affected will now be required to pay a refundable bond of US$5k, US$10k, or US$15k.

The African countries affected are Angola, Burkina Faso, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Libya, Mauritania, Sudan, Sao Tome and Principe, Cape Verde, Burundi.

The new restriction comes into effect on December 24 this year. It is a six-month pilot program which targets visitor and business visas.

Also read: African State leaders congratulate President-elect Joe Biden

According to the US State Department, the restriction is meant to serve as a deterrent to travellers who overstay their visas.

President Donald Trump imposed this visa bond rule after he failed to secure a second term as president. During his tenure, Donald Trump has often made restricting immigration a central part of his tenure.

Meanwhile, President-elect Joe Biden has promised to change some of the immigration policies. However, it could take months or even years to reverse these policies.

Source: Business Insider

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: