Africa DRC Governance Government

DRC Government dissolved by National Assembly

Reports reaching our partners at Taarifa Political desk can confirm that the National Assembly in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) on Wednesday dissolved the government of Prime Minister Sylvestre Ilunga Ilunkamba.

According to details, the National Assembly voted this Wednesday, January 27, 2021 for the deposition of the government led by Sylvestre Ilunga Ilunkamba.

Out of 382 deputies who took part in the plenary, 377 voted for the motion. 367 deputies voted for, 7 against and 2 abstained and 1 elected member slipped a void ballot into the ballot box.

Prime Minister Sylvestre Ilunga did not appear for the examination of this motion delayed by 24 hours because of his trip to Lubumbashi where he met the former president and leader of the Common Front for Congo (FCC) Joseph Kabila Kabange.

Also read: Developing clean energy potential in the DRC

In correspondence forwarded to the lower house of parliament, Ilunga Ilunkamba said that “the notorious motion of censure is nothing but a political manoeuver without any factual basis and in defiance of the demands of the rule of law.”

Installed on September 6, 2019, the Ilunga Ilunkamba government will have served for nearly 16 months.

Sylvestre Ilunga Ilunkamba was appointed on May 20, 2019 on a proposal from the FCC following the governance agreement concluded with Cap pour le Change (CACH).

Repetitive tensions within the coalition ended up causing the rupture in December 2020 and in turn swept away the Prime Minister that day.

Taarifa Rwanda

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: